Unauthorized use in Virginia (Va. Code §18.2-102) is the taking of property with the intent to temporarily deprive the owner of his property or the use of his property. The property that can be the subject of a Virginia unauthorized use charge includes vehicles, aircraft, boats, vessels, and animals.
Proof of Virginia Unauthorized Use Charge
An offender can be convicted of a Virginia Unauthorized Use charge under Va. Code §18.2-102 if he:
- takes, drives, or uses
- an animal, aircraft, vehicle, boat or vessel
- belonging to another
- without consent
- with the intent to temporarily deprive the owner of his property
- and without the intent to steal.
A person can also be convicted of a Virginia Unauthorized Use charge under Va. Code §18.2-102 if he assists someone or is an accomplice to an unauthorized taking or use.
Penalty for Virginia Unauthorized Use Charge
If the property used without authorization is worth less than $200, the offense is a Class 1 misdemeanor. It is punished with up to 12 months in jail, a fine up to $2500, or both. If the property was worth more than $200, the crime is a Class 6 felony, punished with up to 5 years in prison.
Virginia Unauthorized Use Va. Code §18.2-102
§18.2-102. Unauthorized use of animal, aircraft, vehicle or boat; consent; accessories or accomplices.