What is Reckless Driving in Loudoun County?
A driver can be charged with reckless driving in Loudoun County if he drives a motor vehicle recklessly or at a speed or in a manner that endangers the life, limb, or property of another person.
Difference Between Reckless Driving and Traffic Infractions in Loudoun County
The difference between a traffic infraction and a Loudoun County reckless driving charge is the degree of danger the driver caused by his conduct.
Unlike traffic infractions, a driver CANNOT pre-pay a fine for a Loudoun County reckless driving charge. The driver MUST come to court and failure to appear in court could result in an ADDITIONAL criminal charge. Additionally, traffic infractions are punished with fines and DMV demerit points, but reckless driving charges can be punished with driver’s license suspension and jail (in addition to fines and mandatory DMV points).
Reckless driving in Loudoun County has serious consequences and should not be taken lightly. It would be wise to consult with a Loudoun County reckless driving lawyer before going to court.
Loudoun County Reckless Driving Charges
There are a number of charges in Loudoun County that are considered reckless driving. They include:
- General Reckless Driving (Va. Code §46.2-852)
- Reckless Driving by Speed (Va. Code §46.2-862)
- Aggressive Driving (Va. Code §46.2-868.1)
- Racing (Va. Code §46.2-865)
- Driving Too Fast for Highway/Traffic Conditions (Va. Code §46.2-861)
- Failing to Maintain Proper Control/Faulty Brakes (Va. Code §46.2-853)
- Failure to Yield Right-of-Way when Entering Highway (Va. Code §46.2-863)
- Reckless Driving on Parking Lot (Va. Code §46.2-864)
- Failure to Give Proper Signal (Va. Code §46.2-860)
- Passing a Stopped School Bus (Va. Code §46.1-859)
- Passing at a Railroad Crossing (Va. Code §46.2-858)
- Driving with Obstructed View (Va. Code §46.2-855)
- Driving Two Abreast in a Single Lane (Va. Code §46.2-857)
- Passing Two Vehicles Abreast (Va. Code §46.2-856)
- Passing On or at the Crest of a Grade or Curve (Va. Code §46.2-854)
- Failure to Yield to Stationary Emergency Vehicle (Va. Code §46.2-921.1)
- Passing or Overtaking an Emergency Vehicle (Va. Code §46.2-829)
Proof of Loudoun County Reckless Driving Charge
Reckless driving is frequently charged after a car accident. The police officer who responds to the scene determines who was at fault and charges that person with reckless driving. However, an accident does not itself prove reckless driving in Loudoun County. The Commonwealth still must prove that the accused drove in a manner than endangered the life, limb or property of another person.
Loudoun County Reckless Driving Penalties
A Loudoun County reckless driving charge is generally a Class 1 misdemeanor. It is punished with up to 12 months in jail, a fine up to $2500, court costs, driver’s license suspension, DMV demerit points, and possible enrollment in the Virginia ASAP program. If the offender was texting while driving, he will pay a mandatory minimum fine of $250 (Va. Code §46.2-1078.1). For more information on texting while driving in Virginia, click here.
There could be many additional consequences to a Loudoun County reckless driving conviction, including insurance premium increases, loss of educational and employment opportunities, security clearances could be in jeopardy, and there may be immigration consequences for anyone who is not a United States citizen.
It is important to contact a Loudoun County reckless driving lawyer as soon as possible to review options for, consequences of, and possible defenses to a Loudoun County reckless driving charge. If a conviction cannot be avoided, a Loudoun County reckless driving lawyer can help to obtain the best possible outcome.
Felony Reckless Driving
Reckless driving in Loudoun County can sometimes be a felony. If the offender’s license was suspended or revoked for a moving violation and the driver caused the death of another person as a result of his reckless driving, he will be charged with a Class 6 felony (Va. Code §46.2-868(B)). The offense is punished with up to 5 years in prison, a fine up to $2500, DMV demerit points, and driver’s license revocation for 1 year. Click here for more information on felony reckless driving in Virginia.
Contact Loudoun County Reckless Driving Lawyer Jean Humbrecht Today
If you are facing a reckless driving charge in Loudoun County, contact Loudoun County reckless driving lawyer Jean Humbrecht today to handle your case and discuss any possible defenses you may have. A Loudoun County reckless driving lawyer can help obtain the best possible result based on your particular circumstances.